Georgia Medicaid EHR Eligible Hospitals

The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program is limited Eligible Hospitals (EHs) for three years of participation.

Eligible Hospitals include:

  • Acute care hospitals
  • Critical access hospitals
  • Children’s hospitals

Acute care and critical access hospitals must have a Medicaid (Title XIX) patient volume of at least 10 percent of their total volume to be eligible to receive incentive payments. Children’s hospitals, which cannot be pediatric wings of larger hospitals, are not required to meet patient volume thresholds.

Eligible Hospitals in Georgia receive “concierge service” to assist with their customized patient volume calculators. Those meeting all program requirements may earn an incentive payment based on a formula that uses a variety of data points, including an aggregate EHR payment amount.

During Year 1 of their program participation, EH participants must adopt, implement, upgrade or demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology. They must demonstrate meaningful use in the two remaining years of their program participation.

By meeting all program requirements, EHs may earn an incentive payment based on a formula that includes an annual EHR base amount; a per-discharge amount and a transition factor for each year; a Medicaid share based on inpatient, non-charity care days; and an aggregate EHR payment amount. The aggregate EHR payment estimate, when approved by DCH, is the total incentive payment that will be paid out during three years of participation.

Eligible Hospitals may receive payments from both Medicare and Medicaid Incentive Programs. The exceptions are children's hospitals, which will qualify for Medicaid incentive payments only.

Learn More

To learn how you can benefit from the Medicaid EHR Inventive Program, visit the Department of Community health website.


Fact Sheet for Eligible Hospitals

EHR FAQs for Eligible Hospitals

Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Toolkit for Eligible Hospitals